Let’s Talk About Love

Last night, I went to my first ever book tour to see my favorite author of all time, Karen Kingsbury. If I wasn’t excited enough it was titled ,Love Story, named after her recently released new book. It’s the story all KK fans have been waiting for, the timeless love story of John and Elizabeth Baxter of the beloved Baxter series.

The evening started with worship led by her son and another phenomenally talented girl from Liberty University. After three songs that reminded us of God’s continuous love for us it was time for her to take the stage! (I totally fangirled and I’m not even afraid to admit it!).

Karen
Karen Kingsbury!

The woman who has written so many novels that have helped me grow in my relationship with Christ and has entertained me for years was standing right in front of me!

Being the magnificent story-teller that she is, the two hours were filled with laughter and tears and memories that will last for a lifetime! There were many things that I took away from last night but one thing stood out above all…. She asked us to take time and reflect about the greatest love story of all, the story of our own personal relationship with Jesus Christ.

It should be no surprise that as soon as I got home I got out a journal and truly began to write out our love story and it was nothing short of beautiful! And if you have made it this far, I would like to share it with you. šŸ™‚

I honestly can’t remember a time when God was not a part of my life. It was rare to miss a Sunday and up until the end of sixth grade, I attended a Christian school. It was at that school in second grade where I remember hearing the Easter story like it was the first time. At that moment I realized that Jesus was not just some nice guy in what I thought was a white dress but the Savior of the world who had come to this world to die for me and forgive me of all my sins.

Throughout my school years I attended the camps and learned Bible verses and always tried to follow the rules. But going into my Senior year, I doubted my salvation for the very first time and remember talking with a lady that was like a sister to me and we prayed together. As we did, I felt reassurance and a peace that surpasses all understanding. From that moment on, my relationship with Christ was personal and I began to dive deep in His word and ask Him to use me to be an example for Him.

In college, that’s exactly what happened. I didn’t lead the typical college life and that stood out to others and I even had a friend who found a personal relationship with Jesus because of that. God was faithful to provide many friends that pursued Him as well and I even attended my first small group there too!

After college, it wasn’t long before I moved churches and God began to place me in leadership roles. In the past few years, I have not only taught preschool but I have led two small groups, sang in the praise and worship team, and served as a youth mentor in our growing youth ministry!

Has it always been easy? No. Have I failed Him? Daily. But through it all, I have found that in every scenario that where I see brokenness God sees beautiful. Where I see regret, he sees redemption. Where I see fear, He gives me faith. When I feel hopeless, he gives me hope.

He is my Rock and my Redeemer. My strong tower and my Savior! My song and my salvation. He remains faithful even when I’m not. And no matter where I go, whether it be to the highest mountain or the lowest valley, He covers me in the shelter of His wings. What love is this?

Oh, I pray you know Him and know what that everlasting and all-consuming love feels like today!

What is your story? What does God truly mean to you?

I would love to hear your story as well and if God lays it on your heart to share this feel free!

Until next time,

Jennifer

Leave a Reply

